HyperACCESS Prompts Each User for User (registration) information

Applies to Multiple user systems – NT, W2000, XP

When installed on a multiple user Windows operating system, HyperACCESS prompts for user information, such as name and serial number, when a new logged-in user launches the application for the first time. This process, referred to as ‘phase 2’ of the HyperACCESS setup program, will always run the first time a user runs the application. There is no mechanism to suppress it.

By design, multiple users systems such as NT, Windows 2000 and XP require system registry keys for each software application run by every user who logs into the system. The registry keys contain configuration information specific to that logged-in user account. To accomplish the task of creating these keys and updating the registry for each logged-in user, HyperACCESS automatically runs ‘phase 2’ when the user double-clicks the HyperACCESS icon for the first time. Phase 2 consists of user information dialog boxes that request the user name and serial number, and other information such as the desired connection type, default upload and download folders. After the dialogs are completed, the HyperACCESS phonebook opens and the application is ready for use.

Once the Hilgraeve registry keys are in place, the user will not be prompted for this information again. HyperACCESS will open the phonebook the next time the user starts the program by double-clicking the program icon, clicking a desktop shortcut, or when HyperACCESS is run from a command line or the Start, Run menu.

Because updating the system registry is a operating system requirement, there is no way to prevent the phase 2 from running. If you have many users who log into the workstation where HyperACCESS installed and want to use the application, you may want to consider implementing a process that automatically updates the registry. Please contact Technical Support for details.